Library

{{guide_nav_info}} - [OBSOLETE TAG - REMOVE FROM TEMPLATE CODE]

Rotating header

WElcome to the Law Library

The Michael J. Lynch Law Library

The Michael J. Lynch Law Library at Atlanta's John Marshall Law School is one of the fastest growing libraries in the area. Our library provides students and faculty with access to all legal materials necessary to learn the methodology of legal research and to conduct the research essential to legal practice and scholarship.

The primary function of the library is to support the Law School curriculum and faculty research. Although chiefly intended to serve the students and the faculty of the Law School, the library is open during its posted hours to alumni, members of the Bench and Bar and anyone needing legal materials.

The library utilizes an online public access catalog. The database contains bibliographic and call number information according to the Library of Congress Classification system, for all the Atlanta's John Marshall Law School Library holdings.

The Law Library's collection contains over 242,000 total volumes and equivalents, as well as computer resources. The library provides materials in all areas of American law and selected areas of international law. Print resources include more than 147,500 titles, including appellate case reports of fifty states and the federal government, statutes of Georgia, the southeastern states, and the United States, more than 2,500 serials, including almost all American university law reviews, and a collection of topical legal treatises covering national and state law. The library also collects videotapes and audiotapes. The available materials are maintained in our Reserve, Reference, Rare Book, and Microform collections.

All students and faculty enjoy direct and unlimited access to the massive online legal databases of Westlaw and LexisNexis. These databases provide the equivalent of millions of volumes, and terabytes of data. Law students have use of Computer Labs providing PC's and high-speed printers on a local network for optimum access to Westlaw and LexisNexis and to the rapidly increasing universe of legal materials available through the Internet. In addition, the library is wired to permit laptop PC's to connect to the local network, Westlaw and LexisNexis, and the Internet.

The Law Library, through its recent expansion, provides seating and study room space sufficient for the great increase in the student body expected in the coming years.

The library has a full-time staff of 8, including 6 librarians. The Library's professional staff is available to assist all users of the collection.

The Michael J. Lynch Law Library is located on the 4th, 5th and 6th Floors of John Marshall Law School, with its entrance located on the 4th Floor. The 5th and 6th floors are accessible by stairs. Use of elevators is limited to staff and persons with special needs. Law students needing to use elevator keys must demonstrate need to the Associate Dean.

ASK THE LIBRARIAN
If you need information not available through our website, the Atlanta's John Marshall Law School librarians may be able to assist you. You can send you request to askthelibrarian@johnmarshall.edu, and one of our librarians will reply to your request.

SCOTUSblog

Loading

New Acquisitions